The PGA Tour announced on Tuesday plans to change the FedExCup format for the 2018-19 season. Part of that plan is to assign pre-tournament strokes to players in the Tour Championship based on their playoff standings in the first two events. 

Per senior writer Rex Hoggard:

The No. 1 player on the post-season points list will begin the finale at 10 under par. The next four players will start at 8 under through 5 under, respectively, while Nos. 6-10 will begin the tournament at 4 under par with the total regressing by one stroke every five players with those ranked 26th through 30thstarting at even par. The winner at East Lake will also claim the FedExCup.

Here’s a look at where players would start this year’s Tour Championship under the new format (through the three events already contested):

1Bryson DeChambeau10 under
2Justin Rose8 under
3Tony Finau7 under
4Dustin Johnson6 under
5Justin Thomas5 under
T-6Keegan Bradley4 under
T-6Brooks Koepka4 under
T-6Bubba Watson4 under
T-6Billy Horschel4 under
T-6Cameron Smith4 under
T-11Webb Simpson3 under
T-11Jason Day3 under
T-11Francesco Molinari3 under
T-11Phil Mickelson3 under
T-11Patrick Reed3 under
T-16Patrick Cantlay2 under
T-16Rory McIlroy2 under
T-16Xander Schauffele2 under
T-16Tommy Fleetwood2 under
T-16Tiger Woods2 under
T-21Aaron Wise1 under
T-21Kevin Na1 under
T-21Rickie Fowler1 under
T-21Jon Rahm1 under
T-21Kyle Stanley1 under
T-26Paul CaseyEven par
T-26Hideki MatsuyamaEven par
T-26Gary WoodlandEven par
T-26Marc LeishmanEven par
T-26Patton KizzireEven par

Here’s a look at how last year’s Tour Championship played out, with Xander Schauffele winning the event and Justin Thomas claiming the overall FedExCup title, and how it would have looked, all things equal, under the new system (in which Jordan Spieth began the finale as the No. 1 seed and would have started the event at 10 under par). In the new system, Thomas would have been the FedExCup champion.

2017 Tour ChampionshipPlayerFinal score 2017 in new systemPlayerFinal score
1Xander Schauffele-12 1Justin Thomas -19
2Justin Thomas -11  2Jordan Spieth -17 
T-3Russell Henley -10  3Paul Casey -13 
T-3Kevin Kisner -10  T-4Jon Rahm -12 
5Paul Casey -9  T-4Brooks Koepka -12 
6Brooks Koepka -8  T-4Kevin Kisner -12 
T-7Tony Finau -7  T-4Xander Schauffele  -12
T-7Jon Rahm -7  T-8Justin Rose -10 
T-7Jordan Spieth -7  T-8Russell Henley -10 
T-10Sergio Garcia -6  T-10Dustin Johnson -9 
T-10Matt Kuchar -6  T-10Matt Kuchar -9 
T-10Justin Rose -6  12Tony Finau -8 
T-13Patrick Reed -5  T-13Daniel Berger -7 
T-13Webb Simpson -5  T-13Webb Simpson -7 
15Daniel Berger -4  T-13Sergio Garcia -7 
16Pat Perez -3  T-16Pat Perez -6 
T-17Jason Day -2  T-16Patrick Reed-6 
T-17Dustin Johnson -2  18Marc Leishman -3
19Gary Woodland -1   T-19Kyle Stanley -1 
T-20Patrick Cantlay  T-19Gary Woodland -1 
T-20Jason Dufner  T-21Jason Day 
T-20Kyle Stanley E T-21Adam Hadwin 
23Adam Hadwin +1 T-21Patrick Cantlay 
T-24Brian Harman +3  T-21Jason Dufner 
T-24Marc Leishman +3  25Brian Harman +1 
T-26Rickie Fowler+6  T-26Rickie Fowler +2 
T-26Hideki Matsuyama +6  T-26Hideki Matsuyama +2 
T-28Kevin Chappell +9  28Charley Hoffman +6 
T-28Charley Hoffman +9  29Kevin Chappell +7 
30Jnonattan Vegas +10  30Jhonattan Vegas +8 

How new Tour Champ. would look this year and last

Source: Internet


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here